Just When I Think I’m Out They Drag Me Back In Again!

Blogging 201:  “While you’ve been doing a great job putting your special brand on your site so far, we don’t live in isolation — and neither does your blog….Today’s Assignment: pick one social network you’ll use to help grow your blog and connect it to your site in at least one way.

Well, dagnabbit!  I managed to leave facebook and not feel tormented and now they want to force me back!  Argh!

(Warning:  Hyperbolic mini-rant)  It’s like having been addicted to alcohol and then being told, just for publicity purposes, you’ve got to go hang out in bars surrounded by alcohol!

The worst part is that I had started to do this a few weeks ago and stopped myself, standing outside the doors of the “Facebook Liquor Store“:

“Do you really want to go in there again?”

“I don’t know.” 

“Remember what happened last time?”

“I know, but it’s for my blog not me.”

“Really?  ‘Your blog’?  Be honest now.”

“*sobbing*  Okay, it’s for me, it’s for me!” 

In the end the question becomes “What am I looking for?”  Am I blogging for myself, blogging for other people, for an audience, for what?  Oy.  I hate it that blogging makes me think.  And I love it at the same time.  That is why I do it.  It makes me organize myself and sort through all the extraneous stuff and condense down to essentials.  Which is what I am trying to do with my life.

So, do I really want to add more stuff to my life?  How complicated would it be to do it?

I’m essentially not looking to do anything that makes my life harder or more complicated.

So I’m back to where I began.  Do I really want to grow my blog?  Do I really want to needlessly complicate my life?  Even though I enjoy blogging, would I be willing to walk away from it rather than grow it?

Thought for the day.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Just When I Think I’m Out They Drag Me Back In Again!

  1. I wonder about the same thing…why blog? Who am I blogging for? Definitely it was for me at first and then someone “liked” one of my posts. That changed things a bit for me because now I realized I had an audience…and I LIKED it. Great post. You are one funny lady!!!

  2. Really? Facebook complicates your life? Just curious. How?
    I do understand the question, “who am I blogging for”, though.

    • kpannabecker, it’s like an addiction. When I was on it I had to check it all the time. Who said what or what did they think of that or following the linked articles to other facebook pages, etc. It was really unhealthy for me. And I know it has that effect on other people because there’s a facebook page for it… I also think I must like my life singularly uncomplicated. It’s cuz my ‘cats’ are asleep. (Obscure reference to “The Mood Cure” which is the greatest book I’ve read this year and which I will probably blog about soon.)

Leave a Reply

