Ah, Yes, I Remember It Well….

I REMEMBER IT WELL
From "Gigi" (1958)
Honore  & Mamita sing to each other:  

H: We met at nine
M: We met at eight
H: I was on time
M: No, you were late
H: Ah, yes, I remember it well
We dined with friends
M: We dined alone
H: A tenor sang
M: A baritone
H: Ah, yes, I remember it well
That dazzling April moon!
M: There was none that night
And the month was June
H: That's right. That's right.
M: It warms my heart to know that you
remember still the way you do
H: Ah, yes, I remember it well

H: How often I've thought of that Friday
M: Monday
H: night when we had our last rendezvous
And somehow I foolishly wondered if you might
By some chance be thinking of it too?
That carriage ride 
M: You walked me home
H: You lost a glove
M: I lost a comb
H: Ah, yes, I remember it well
That brilliant sky
M: We had some rain
H: Those Russian songs
M: From sunny Spain
H: You wore a gown of gold
M: I was all in blue
H: Am I getting old?
M: Oh, no, not you
How strong you were
How young and gay
A prince of love
In every way
H: Ah, yes, I remember it well
 

It is hard for me to remember myself at 16.  And I’m sure I would be unkind.  But I will try.  Let me first place myself historically, to give myself some context. 


I do recall that was the year of the US Bicentennial Celebrations.  There were fire hydrant painting contests all over. 

 

Benjamin Franklin, the fire hydrant

I had begun really reading the newspaper and trying to understand the world through the news. I remember reading about The Son of Sam in New York City and being glad I was so far away.

The $2.oo bill was issued and I took delight in saying things like, “Queer as a two dollar bill.”

The movie “Rocky” came out that year but I don’t remember seeing it then.  It has since become one of my favorites and I root for Rocky every time.

I had a better figure than I remember….

snow sixteen 006

And my Mom gave me tarot cards for Christmas.  I think it had something to do with the fact that I had read and loved Anne Tyler’s book Searching For Caleb.

snow sixteen 007

I would love to be able to wax philosophically about the past but I really just don’t have it in me.  I view the past as some sort of disease (insert half-hearted chuckle) which I have recovered from. It’s hard for me to look at it and not see the scars or the bad decisions or the heart aches.  I remember a few years ago my Mom gave me a bundle of letters.  It was all the letters I had ever written her since I left home at 18.   I read them and contemplated suicide.  Truthfully.  Perhaps my pain was blunted for her since she had read them spaced out over decades, but for me to read them in a single sitting was devastating.  I burned them and wondered at the cruelty of it all.

I know, I’m a Debbie Downer.

Whose idea was it to do this blog challenge anyway?

 

2 thoughts on “Ah, Yes, I Remember It Well….

  1. This made me laugh out loud…I hope it was supposed to! You have a great, and very dry, sense of humor. I don’t look back on those high school years fondly either…a time to endure. I remember the fire hydrant painting!!

    • Thanks for visiting, amforte66! For some reason, the post about ’empty nest’ didn’t publish itself and this is the last one that showed up. I fixed that and so my comment on your blog should make more sense now. :O)

Leave a Reply

